Umiwi

Dorothea Schrimpe and Kathrin Ebel

from Berlin

Dorothea and Kathrin are two creative, weird and fun-loving people, who have set up the social and sustainable business Umiwi in June 2011. The idea to start their own company, has developed during their visits to various projects in Asia and Latin America. They are currently studying the Master "Sociocultural Studies" at the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt / Oder. The different qualifications in business administration (Doro) and as a social worker (Kathrin) complete each other beautifully and serve as a solid foundation for Umiwi.

Umiwi trades with aid projects in Thailand and Mexico.
Aid projects are generally dependent on donations and other external funding. Therefore Umiwi's goal is to motivate aid projects in entrepreneurial activity and to support as a trading partner. This can generate their own income and donations dependence can be reduced. In each region in Thailand and Mexico rich renewable natural materials are available. Intensive discussions with locals and long stays showed that different cultures have specific knowledge and experience in the arts and crafts and are familiar with the manufacture of jewelry and accessories. Umiwi therefore focuses on fashion and accessories made from natural materials.

Umiwi mango wood bangles from Thailand.
Rarer than with the mango, we come in contact with the wood of the mango tree. It is characterized by a low weight and a striking grain. When the mango tree bears no more fruit, its wood is taken to make furniture, everyday objects or lovingly crafted jewelry pieces, such as the Umiwi-bangles. The bracelet blanks are turned from one piece of wood, then refined with food and other colors, and finally sealed with a resin coating. Each bracelet is handmade and unique.

 

back to designer overview >>

Picture 1 and 3: Mango wood bangles "Chaang": 100% mango wood, 5 cm wide. The individual grain of the mango wood raw material may result in slight color variations. You will receive a unique item.
Price: 29.- €
order online

Picture 2: Mango wood bangles "Nuu" : 100% mango wood, 5 cm wide. The individual grain of the mango wood raw material may result in slight color variations. You will receive a unique item.
Price: 24.- €
order online

Umiwi

Dorothea Schrimpe und Kathrin Ebel

aus Berlin

Dorothea und Kathrin sind zwei kreative, schräge und lebensfrohe Köpfe, die im Juni 2011 das soziale und nachhaltige Unternehmen Umiwi gegründet haben. Die Idee, ein eigenes Unternehmen aufzubauen, hat sich während ihrer Aufenthalte in unterschiedlichen Hilfsprojekten in Asien und Lateinamerika entwickelt. Zur Zeit studieren sie den Master "Soziokulturelle Studien" an der Europauniversität Viadrina in Frankfurt/Oder. Die unterschiedlichen Ausbildungen im ersten Studium als Betriebswirtin (Doro) und Sozialarbeiterin (Kathrin) ergänzen sich wunderbar und dienen als solides Fundament für Umiwi.

Umiwi betreibt Handel mit Hilfsprojekten aus Thailand & Mexiko.
Hilfsprojekte sind in der Regel auf Spenden oder andere externe Gelder angewiesen. Deshalb hat sich Umiwi zum Ziel gesetzt, Hilfsprojekte zu motivieren unternehmerisch aktiv zu werden und als Handelspartner zu unterstützen. Dadurch können eigene Einnahmen generiert und die Spendenabhängigkeit reduziert werden. In einzelnen Regionen in Thailand und Mexiko sind reichhaltige nachwachsende Naturmaterialien vorhanden. Intensive Gespräche mit Einheimischen und lange Aufenthalte ergaben, dass die unterschiedlichen Kulturen spezifisches Wissen und Erfahrung im Kunsthandwerk besitzen und mit der Herstellung von Schmuck und Accessoires vertraut sind. Umiwi konzentriert sich daher auf Accessoires und Mode aus Naturmaterialien.

Umiwi-Mangoholzarmreifen aus Thailand.
Seltener als mit der Mangofrucht, kommen wir mit dem Holz des Mangobaums in Berührung. Es zeichnet sich durch ein geringes Gewicht und eine auffällige Maserung aus. Trägt der Mangobaum keine Früchte mehr, wird sein Holz zur Herstellung von Möbeln, Gegenständen des täglichen Gebrauchs bis hin zu liebevoll gefertigten Schmuckstücken, wie den Umiwi-Armreifen, verwendet. Die Armreifenrohlinge werden aus einem Stück Holz gedrechselt, anschließend mit Nahrungsmittel- und anderen Farben veredelt und zum Schluss mit einem Harzlack versiegelt. Jeder Armreifen wurde in Handarbeit gefertigt und ist ein Einzelstück.

 

zurück zur Designerübersicht >>

Bild 1 und 3: Mangoholzarmreifen "Chaang" 100% Mangoholz, 5 cm breit. Durch die individuelle Maserung des Rohstoffes Mangoholz kann es zu leichten Farbabweichungen kommen. Sie erhalten somit ein Unikat.
Preis: 29.- €
online bestellen

Bild 2: Mangoholzarmreifen "Nuu" : 100% Mangoholz, 2,5 cm breit. Durch die individuelle Maserung des Rohstoffes Mangoholz kann es zu leichten Farbabweichungen kommen. Sie erhalten somit ein Unikat.
Preis: 24.- €
online bestellen